Councillors and Decision Making

There are 45 Councillors (also known as ‘Members’) covering 32 wards.
The three towns in Wychavon – Droitwich Spa, Evesham and Pershore – have several wards and sometimes up to three Councillors for each one. Each Councillor is elected for a term of four years, with the last election on 3rd May 2007.

Councillors are elected to represent their constituents and to take decisions upon Council services and policies.

They can claim allowances for carrying out Council duties.

The Political Representation on the Council is:
• Conservatives – 34
• Liberal Democrats – 11

Wychavon is Conservative controlled under a Leader and Executive Board.

Chairman of the Council
The Chairman of Wychavon District Council is elected each year by the full Council at its Annual Meeting in May.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: